Chakra Basics


Chakra Points

‘Chakra’ is a sanskrit word which means “wheel”. There are hundreds of chakras within the human body (“spinning wheels” giving and receiving energy). Today we will talk about the 7 major chakras most commonly discussed. The 7 major chakras run vertically along the front and back of the body. The front side of our bodies/chakras receive energy, while the back of our bodies/chakras give energy. Each chakra has organs, colors, scents and sounds associated with it. We will briefly discuss this to give you a basic understanding of each chakra.

Base (Root) Chakra

Located: between the legs, at the base of the coccyx

Color: Red

Energy: stability (money, home, etc.)

Sacral Chakra

Located: two finger widths below the navel

Color: Orange

Energy: sexuality and creativity

Solar Plexus Chakra

Located: two finger widths above the navel

Color: Yellow

Energy: self-esteem and self-power

Heart Chakra

Located: center of the breast bone

Color: Green

Energy: love and relationships

Throat Chakra

Located: center of throat

Color: Light Blue

Energy: communication (communicating the truth of the heart)

Third Eye Chakra

Located: between the two physical eyes, just above the brow

Color: Indigo

Energy: clairvoyance (seeing past, present and future)

Crown Chakra

Located: on top of the head

Color: Violet

Energy: claircognizance (divine guidance)

When a chakra is unbalanced, it can cause dis-ease or disharmony within our bodies. This can happen in a number of ways. For example, our chakras close automatically if we feel threatened, or if we are thinking or worrying to much about one thing (using one chakra more than the others) our chakras will over or under compensate to try to bring balance to the whole system. This usually resulting in our whole chakra system getting thrown off balance. That’s why it’s beneficial to charge and re-balance our chakras at least once a month. Here are a few suggestions on how to do that working with stones.

One really good stone to work with is KYANITE. It doesn’t matter which color, they all open and align the chakras automatically and immediately. You don’t need to know how to use it, just by holding kyanite or wearing it, it will work. We carry Kyanite in it’s natural form, polished and in jewelry. The other two methods involve a little more work. When working with the chakras and stones, we are going to pick a stone that matches the associated color for each chakra. For an example the stones I most commonly work with are: (remember it’s the color, not the specific stone, explore what feel’s good to you!) Base chakra, red, garnet; Sacral chakra, orange, carnelian; Solar plexus chakra, yellow, citrine; Heart chakra, green, aventurine; Throat chakra, light blue, aquamarine; Third eye chakra, indigo, iolite; and Crown chakra, violet, amethyst. Some books will give different colors for each chakra, I use these colors because these were the ones found in the ancient vedic scriptures, the oldest existing text on the chakras. So now that you’ve picked 7 stones for the 7 different colors of the chakra system, let’s do a chakra layout.

In a quiet comfortable space, lay down on your back. Make sure you’re comfortable – we’re trying to bring harmony back to our bodies. Place the stones on the chakras one at a time, starting with the base chakra. We start with the base chakra to help keep us grounded during and after the layout. Red stone on base chakra, orange stone on sacral chakra, yellow stone on solar-plexus chakra, green stone on heart chakra, light blue stone on the throat chakra, indigo stone on the third eye chakra and the violet stone on the crown chakra (resting on the floor, by the crown of the head). Relax and lay there for 15-30 minutes. When finished remove the stones in the opposite direction you laid them on, this will also help keep you grounded. That’s it! You have just opened, balanced and aligned your chakras. Nice Job! Be careful, stones really do work, after doing the chakra layout you may experience dizziness, or emotional release, this is just the stones working to remove any blockages you may have had, causing an imbalance in your chakra system. Just drink a lot of water and the feeling will pass.

If you feel like one chakra is really out of balance (as an example, you feel like you have a broken heart [heart chakra] or if you’ve really been worrying a lot about money [base chakra]), You can determine what chakra it is and pick a stone to work with using the same color as the chakra. Then you could carry or wear the stone all day or just do a single stone layout by only placing that stone on the specific chakra that need’s work. Lay there for 15-30 minutes, get up when you’re done. Nice Job! Earth Lore carries a variety of items to help you learn and understand more about your wonderful chakra system.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: